Favorite Genre?

12 Jul

Before we start voting on genres and books for the actual challenge we want to know what genres you’re interested in. We would love it if you would vote and then leave us a comment about why that particular genre is your favorite.

7 Responses to “Favorite Genre?”

  1. Emily July 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I love Science Fiction and Fantasy, so it was really hard for me to pick just one to call my favorite! Looking back (to five seconds ago) I probably should have voted for fantasy since one of my favorite fantasy authors is coming out with a book today.

    Anyway, what I love about both genres is their ability to look at human behavior through the lens of something strange or futuristic or magical. Plus, the strange/futuristic/magical aspects are usually a lot of fun!

  2. Claire July 13, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    I chose non-fiction because I love reading the books and learning new things. For example I borrow non-fiction books to help me study or learn something I don’t know.

    • heymanletsread July 14, 2011 at 12:30 am #

      That’s great that you’re so open to learning new things, Claire! Do you have a particular subject that you’re fond of, or do you just get out whatever seems interesting?

      • Claire July 17, 2011 at 2:01 am #

        I just like visiting the library and finding out which books look interesting. I do however like arts and crafts or just books which explain how to do something. For example at the moment I have a book on how the disney movies are made 🙂 It is really interesting.

  3. Kateri July 18, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    I ended up choosing “other” because I couldn’t pick just one. My favorite genre is probably urban fantasy, but I also read high fantasy, science fiction, mysteries, and lately I have even been reading some non-fiction. I am also that guy who walks through the library, reads a title or looks at a cover, and says “hey that looks cool!” so I’ll read that too. :o)

  4. Cathy July 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I chose “other” because I love historical fiction. I appreciate the different interpretations of historical events and figures offered by the authors. Good books in this genre incorporate the historical background, romance, action, and suspense. Definitely my favorite genre 🙂

    • heymanletsread July 18, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      This is a genre that I, personally, don’t read very often. That said, I picked one of these books up on a whim last year and was absolutely addicted to it–it was a novel about Henri II of France and Diane de Poitiers, his mistress who was 20 years his senior. Their story is really fascinating, and I had SO MUCH fun reading the fictionalized account of it (as well as researching the more fact-based story afterwards–it’s become one of my favorite parts of history!). I believe the book was called Courtesan, but I can’t recall the author’s name…

      Still! Just more proof that getting outside the genres we typically read can lead to great things. 🙂

      –Kelly

Leave a Reply

