Two days left!

8 Aug

Today is August 8th, which means that there are only TWO DAYS LEFT to get your vote in for September’s genre!  Have you been thinking about the kind of books you’d like to read?  Have a particular genre in mind that you’ve thought about trying but always put off for “another time?”  Let us know by casting a vote!  All you have to do is leave a comment here on the blog, post on our facebook, send us a tweet or email–whichever way suits you best!

Remember, as soon as the genre is announced, you can start to vote for books you’d like to read within that genre!  Voting for books will go until August 20th, and we start reading on Monday, August 29th!  You should aim to finish the first book by Sunday, September 3rd.  If you don’t, no big deal–but keep an eye out on the discussions going on at our various pages anyway!

 

 

In talking with a Hey, Man! Let’s Read participant, I’ve learned that some people were expecting and waiting for a poll to come up on the blog to vote for their genre.  The confusion is my fault, and I apologize.  I didn’t even think of including a poll in the voting process–although it makes sense for a lot of reasons, I didn’t want anyone to feel as though they HAD to pick from a few select genres.  I want everyone to feel free to vote for whatever genre their hearts desired, and I thought if I put up a poll, there were a few I was bound to miss.  That goes double for voting on books!

If we get a lot of participants in the future, and it becomes a bit too cumbersome to track votes (which would be awesome, so tell all your friends!), then we’ll definitely switch to polls.

Also, if you would prefer to use a poll rather than voting in comments, then let us know!  HM!LR is for everyone, and I want it to run in a way in which it serves its participants.  So do me a favor and leave Emily and I a quick message here on the blog (or our Facebook page/twitter/email, as always) letting us know what genre you’re interested in for next month, and whether or not you’re okay with the current system.  I want to hear from you, and suggestions are always welcome!

 

Can’t wait to hear the last few votes and see what genre comes out on top!  Emily and I are really excited for September, and we hope you are, too!

–Kelly

One Response to “Two days left!”

  1. Danielle (@paranerdhead) August 8, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    I believe that I’ll have to place my vote in the sci-fi genre.

Leave a Reply

