And the books for September are…

26 Aug

Alright, everyone!  The books for September are…

August 29 – September 4: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s (Philosopher’s) Stone by JK Rowling

September 5 – September 11: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

September 12 – September 18: Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

September 19 – September 25: The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

September 26 – October 2: The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

There you have it!  Start raiding your local library and taking out these books!  We start reading in just FOUR DAYS!

8 Responses to “And the books for September are…”

  1. Jeyna Grace August 26, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    game of thrones seems to be a hit these days cause of the series.. not sure if i should pick it up….

    • heymanletsread August 26, 2011 at 3:41 am #

      I’m in a similar boat. I figure I’ll get it from the library–if I absolutely love it, I can always buy it later. It’s supposed to be AMAZING, though, so I’m pretty excited to give a go. 🙂

  2. Claire August 26, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Can you please write the authors for a few of the books? Just so I don’t read the wrong ones 🙂

    • heymanletsread August 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

      I edited the post to have the names of the authors! 🙂 Sorry about that–totally silly oversight, on my part. Thanks for pointing it out to me!

  3. Kateri August 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Since I’m an over-achiever, I just finished re-reading HP and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I had forgotten a lot about the first book in the series, since it seems to be one of the ones I didn’t re-read a lot as the series continued. I don’t know how many people on here have already read the book, so if you haven’t, SPOILER ALERT! I had totally forgotten that Hermione and Harry and Ron didn’t start out best friends! I had also forgotten how cute Harry and Hagrid’s first meeting was, and how much foreshadowing there was in the first book. It really made me appreciate Rowling’s talent even more than I already did. It also, of course, made me want to re-read every other book in the series immediately. And buy a wand. :o)

    I’m excited for the rest of the month! I haven’t read A Wrinkle in Time in ages and I’ve never read Game of Thrones, though I keep hearing good things about it. Happy reading everyone!

  4. Claire August 28, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    I am having trouble finding a copy of Game of Thrones. It has like 3 reserves for it at my local library maybe I will have to skip out on that book if I cannot find it. Not sure if it would be my style to buy…

    • heymanletsread August 28, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Yeah, my only reservation about choosing Game of Thrones for September is the book’s immense popularity–I was worried people wouldn’t be able to find it in time. We still have a few weeks before it’s time to read that one, so you MIGHT be able to get it from your library (you know, if you’re REALLY hopeful! haha). Do you have a bookstore in your town that you usually shop at? A Barnes and Noble, or something like that? Because I am occasionally guilty of going into bookstores like that, picking up a book, finding a seat and then reading for a few hours…then putting back the book and coming back another day to read some more/finish the book. Game of Thrones is a pretty big book, so it might be hard to do something like that, but it’s a possibility…

      Obviously, I don’t want you to buy any book you’re not interested in or spending money on something you don’t want. That said, this is a challenge to push yourself into reading books you wouldn’t have picked otherwise–so here’s what I propose! Search for an online preview (amazon, maybe? or you could just google it), or go to a bookstore and read the first few chapters to see how you feel about it. Maybe it’ll catch your attention, maybe it won’t. Either way, it should help you make a better informed decision about whether or not you want to try and figure out a way to get your hands on that book in a few weeks.

      Or, you could just say whatever and just not read the book that week. 🙂 Haha. It’s up to you! Do what’s best for you. 🙂

  5. Cav September 4, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    When i was looking for these books in the library system’s catalog i saw it had a Spanish translation of The Golden Compass! However, apparently the translation is terrible so that’s on more book i’ll be reading in English =(

    I don’t think i’ll be able to read A Game of Thrones so i’m hoping i’ll be able to squeeze listening to the 33.5 hours of the audiobook into a week and a half.

    And there’s only one copy of The Last Unicorn in all the libraries in Lancaster County and that’s the large print version- random.

Leave a Reply

