Favorite part?

9 Sep

What was your favorite part of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone?

 

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, and there are so many scenes that I really love that it is hard to choose!  However, I think I’m going to have to go with the Mirror of Erised.

I love that Harry sees family–not just his parents, but other relatives.  I feel as though that shows something about his character, and what he craves as a human being: more than anything, Harry wants to love and be loved.

I also think the interactions with both Ron and Dumbledore at the mirror are excellent at showing their respective natures.  Ron sees himself as the best of his family, outshining all the accomplishments of his brothers. I always felt that Ron didn’t really think he COULD achieve something; at this point in the series, he didn’t believe himself capable of greatness.  It’s nice to see him grow and accomplish so much that, even if it doesn’t happen as he sees it in the mirror, he truly makes a name for himself.

Dumbledore’s answer is, in a way, the most revealing of all.  By giving a sort of joking answer, we know that he has secrets, and they run deep.  Also, I love his advice to Harry–“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

 

What is YOUR favorite part?

 

 

Also, only two days left to vote on the October genre!  The genre that is in the lead now is only ahead by one vote (and only ahead of the third genre by two or three votes), so it’s a really close race!

2 Responses to “Favorite part?”

  1. Jeyna Grace September 9, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    My fav part? Hmmm… i don’t have one. The whole story was my fav part in a chunk.

  2. Kateri September 11, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    I have been thinking about this a lot since I first read this post and I decided I have two favorite parts. The first is when Harry and Ron save Hermione from the troll. Despite the fact that Harry and Ron didn’t like Hermione, they still ran to the girl’s bathroom to warn her about the troll. The event ended up being the start of a very important friendship.

    My second favorite part was the entire section where Harry, Ron, and Hermione are trying to get to the Sorcerer’s Stone. I think it’s really amazing that these eleven year old’s were willing to risk everything-including their lives-to help Harry. Again, it was great foreshadowing for the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

