A Game of Thrones

18 Sep

Happy Sunday, everybody!

 

Video to come later today, but for now, let’s get started in discussing A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin!

One thing to keep in mind: not everyone may have finished on time this week (read: I didn’t finish on time this week).  Make sure that if you’re including a major spoiler, you mark it clearly so that those of us who are reading your thoughts can avoid it!

 

 

I have a number of things I want to talk about:

1.  It’s hard to bring this book up without talking about the recent hit HBO show.   I have personally never seen it, but for those who have, how do the two compare?  I’m curious to know how the show stacks up because the book is pretty gosh darn great.

1. a Am I the only one who kept going to people who watch the show               to ask them how to pronounce all the names?

2.  Favorite characters?  I know that doesn’t seem like an interesting discussion point, but when writing about your favorite character, tell us what it is about them that makes you like them.  What are their flaws and strengths?

3.  Recurring themes you’ve noticed?

4.  Anything else you have to say!

 

 

I have a busy day ahead of me, so the video will be up sometime in the afternoon/evening (keep in mind, I’m on PST).  Can’t wait to hear some of your thoughts!

 

And remember–only two days left to vote for the October books!

2 Responses to “A Game of Thrones”

  1. Redhead September 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    such a great book! I think I still pronounce people’s names wrong, probably because I’ve been saying a name one way for so long that hearing it a different way sounds weird. I call her “KATE-lynn”, and on the show I think she was CAT-lynn. oh well.

    Fave characters? Arya! I appreciate that she feels stuck in a role. That one day her parents will choose her husband, and she’ll always be stuck doing “girly” things. She wants to rebel, but is too young to understand how, so she just lashes out, usually embarrassing the other women in her family. Her father understands, so he allows her to get involved in an activity usually reserved for boys. It’s sort of a win-win situation. sort of.

    • Kim September 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      There ARE no proper pronunciations! *hearts the author*
      Lovin’ Arya and Tyrion — arya for being so deterimined, and Tyrion for being so thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

